Baby Blueberry – Week 24

I would like to apologize for the long absence. We have had so much going on…people coming here, going other places, long work hours, extra expenses, a broken pipe, extra activities…I haven’t had the desire or the time to get on here and publish an update. I hope you enjoy learning where we are now!

24 weeks

Photo credit – Bethany Pounders/Becca Hall

How far along? 24 weeks. BB is approximately the size of a cantaloupe, about 10.5-11.5 in. and 12-20 oz. BB is getting pinker skin, making him look more like a baby.

Total weight gain? 12-15 pounds

Maternity clothes? Dresses are the most comfortable. Some of my size small maternity pants don’t fit well anymore.

Movement? All the time!!! I first felt movement back in week 18 and Phil felt him kick around week 20.

Miss anything? lunch meat, white rice, feeling relaxed (having a hard time doing that with so much going on)

Food cravings? bacon, egg, and cheese biscuits, strawberries, sweet tea

Have you started to show? Yes, and my bump seems to be all baby. You can’t tell from behind yet.

Sleep? This past week, sleeping hasn’t been the best because I’ve been battling a sore throat and cough. I stayed home from work for two days and that seemed to help me rest and recover.

Looking forward to? my Centering appointment today, we’re going to be touring the hospital which I’m excited about.

Symptoms: Fatigue, extra mucus and flem, moodiness (I was emotional before pregnancy, so this isn’t helping), back pain, hungry more often, itchy skin, discomfort where my upper abdominal muscles are stretching out, color changes on my stomach, leg cramps, some tooth/joint pain

Belly Button in or out? It moves between in and out depending on what time of day it is and how much food I’ve eaten.

Gender? We’re having a boy! We found out about 3 weeks ago, and I meant to make a specific post about it, but life has been happening, so that just didn’t happen.

Best moment this week? Going to Amber’s baby shower!

What do I know? I know that I want to cherish Joseph’s time as a baby so much. I don’t want to be stressed out and tied down to a certain style of feeding, or a schedule, or anything like that. I want to be able to give him what he needs and get to know him. Once that is established, everything else will fall into place. I also know that I am going to my first Hypnobabies session on Tuesday, and I am scared out of my mind. I don’t really know what to expect, but I have heard such great things about the program that I can’t let my fear get in the way. Some prayers regarding this would be highly appreciated.

Note to the Blueberry: Dear Blueberry, My favorite parts of the day are when you are wiggling around in there. I bet you are already having boy adventures like fighting off the Indians or exploring a new land. I hope that those never stop. It is a great joy in life to adventure and discover new things. I hope you never fear a new experience or a new place. (I’ll probably be doing that enough for both of us) I love you completely and can’t wait to see your little face and discover what you are like. Love, Mommy

Leave a Reply

